276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Whole Truth: The new ‘impossible to predict’ detective thriller from the Richard and Judy Book Club Spring 2021 (DI Fawley)

£4.995£9.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

When an Oxford student accuses one of the university’s professors of sexual assault, DI Adam Fawley’s team think they’ve heard it all before. But they couldn’t be more wrong.

The second twisty, up-all-night thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling Cara Hunter. For fans of Shari Lapena, Claire Douglas and Lisa Jewell. Lalu siapa yang menjadi protagonis utama pemecah kasus? Para anggota tim Fawley yang menyelesaikan kasus. Tentu saja dengan dinamika karakter mereka. Lagi-lagi saya suka dengan tokoh Ruth Galagher, sama seperti di seri sebelumnya, All the Rage, dia figur pemimpin wanita yang berkharisma. Alex juga memainkan peran penting di buku ini. Oh iya, ada satu tokoh yang baru saya tau di buku ini, dan tokoh ini menyebalkan dan bikin emosi Tobin, anak Marina yang menjadi saksi saat peristiwa terjadi. Namun karena usianya yang masih kecil, kesaksiannya diragukan.Alex, istri Adam Fawley yang juga salah satu korban kejahatan Gavin Parrie. Alex sedang hamil tua dan dia mencemaskan Gavin Parrie yang berniat balas dendam. Add to this investigation an historic case of rape and a suicide, plus a modern day murder and you’ll be holding your breath as each new twist is thrown into the story. An allegation of a serious sexual assault has occurred and it is a renowned college professor who is being accused of committing the crime.

The characters are all well-drawn and credible. The plot is believable, compelling and has been carefully and tightly constructed. The pace of the novel is practically faultless. There are sections that are somewhat more considered, but only when it is appropriate for them to be so - and there are other times when I was left almost breathless as events briskly unfurled.

Satu hal yang saya rasakan di buku seri yang ini adalah karakter Adam Fawley yang tidak ditonjolkan kecerdikannya oleh Cara Hunter. Meski selalu ada bagian-bagian utama dalam buku yang menggunakan sudut pandang Adam Fawley, tapi dalam kerangka cerita, peran Fawley tidak begitu dominan. Dia bahkan menjadi tersangka dalam kasus yang ada. Tentu saja ini mungkin akan membuat pembaca merasa greget seperti saya. Benarkah Adam Fawley bersalah? Nah, teman-teman harus baca sendiri bukunya ya. As has now become a bit of a signature for Hunter, the use of social media posts, texts, interviews and a new addition of podcasts interspersed within the story make it really interesting and feels more interactive.

Cancel everything. You're not going anywhere until you finish this' Emily Koch, If I Die Before I Wake I am a huge fan of this author and this series of books. So you can only imagine how excited I was to receive an early copy! Last night, eight-year-old Daisy Mason disappeared from a family party. No one in the quiet suburban street saw anything - or at least that's what they're saying.

As each of the threads are woven together through the book you have to keep your wits about you. Blink and you might miss an important clue or a vital piece of evidence. In The Whole Truth, Adam and the team find themselves in the midst of two crimes to solve and with his personal life about to undergo a huge change, Adam is feeling the pressure more than ever. But even he couldn't predict the route that these investigations would take. Cara Hunter is a brilliant plotter, but it's her masterfully drawn characters that really make her novels stand out' Rachel Abbott, Close Your Eyes

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment